I’ll Be There for You

The first thing I did after sleeping for 14 hours as I finished two incredibly hard papers was watching around 20 episodes from different seasons of Friends. I almost forgot how much I appreciate Chandler’s awkward sense of humor. He’s talking to a door: “I’m funny, right? What do you know, you’re a door. You only like knock-knock jokes.” This makes me laugh every time. Even now, when I have watched it at least 20 times.

Here comes Phoebe, thinking someone will die if she goes to a dentist. Well, what do you know? She has proof. And Monica… While my friends keep telling me she might just be as obsessive as I am, they all also agree that I am the opposite of a great cook that Monica is. Rachel’s here too. She’s scared of anything touching her or anybody else’s eye. So, she refuses to take eye drops and the guys have to make her. This is so funny. Rachel is a fashion freak and would do anything for a pair of new boots. Uhh, Ross started talking about something boring. See, he’s a paleontologist and while science can be interesting, Ross isn’t. Somehow, I missed even Ross. He’s been in love with Rachel for ages. There’s Joey! He’s famous line is “How you doin?” He can win any girl over by saying it. Joey’s biggest love, however, is food and he wants everyone to know that “Joey doesn’t share food.”

Friends may be the only show, the opening credits of which are worth watching every single time. The song of the credits, called “I’ll be there for you” by the Rembrandts, is typical for the show and the strong bond the characters share. The song along with the short scenes from the show, never allow me to skip the credits, even if I watch 20 episodes a day.

-Marine Keklikyan

Leave a Reply

