An Unforgettable Experience

17264775_10155105408029304_6553295255284538484_n.jpg

 

Last week, I had the opportunity to witness something a magical dance performance and probably one of the best experiences in my life. Thursday, on March 16, as I was scrolling down my Facebook feed, I accidently found a poster of an event published by British Council of Armenia. The post stated the following: “We invite you to attend a double bill by Candoco Dance Company, the contemporary dance company of disabled and non-disabled dancers, that will take place on 16 and 17 March 2017 at Sundukyan State Academic Theatre in Yerevan. Admission is free.” Even though I had a lot of work to do, but I suddenly felt as if I need to go there.

After being stuck in traffic about 20 minutes, I finally got there. The lights turned off, and a beautiful music started. Actors got up on stage and started dancing. The dancers were both people with disabilities and non-disabilities. They all were dancing so passionately and emotionally. The moves were gracious and rather difficult despite the fact there were disabled dancers. It seemed like they were using their disability as an advantage. The performance was just breathtaking; I was highly influenced by the dance company. I still can’t forget the feelings they gave to me throughout the entire performance.
I think it was a lifetime experience I will never forget.

Then I came back home and started searching more information about them. In essence, Candoco Dance Company is a company of disabled and non-disabled dancers that create excellent and profound experiences to excite, challenge and broaden perceptions of art, aesthetics, and ability. Celebrating 25 years of creating acclaimed and cutting edge work, Candoco present one of the most strikingly physical double bills to date: ‘Beheld’ and ‘Set and Reset/Reset.’

I was stunned especially by the performance called ‘Beheld’. It was something incredible and magical. The music of the performance was chosen just perfectly; it was both emotional and contemporary. Once the dancers, the music, the emotions and the lights came together, it became like a magical moment. I was challenged to realize the abilities I have and use them as much as possible. If you ever hear the name of Candoco Dance Company then go and watch them as it is a magic everyone needs to witness.

Elen Atanesyan

Sources

https://www.britishcouncil.am/en/events/performances-candoco-dance-company

Leave a Reply

