Fast and Furious 8: The Fate of the Furious (2017)

MV5BMTY1NDI1OTU4N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODA3MzU4MTI@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_Just a few hours ago I came from the screening of Fast and Furious 8, which, surprisingly and unexpectedly enough I greatly enjoyed. And here I am now writing a phoney review, because I have no idea what else to write about.

It’s been a long time since I’ve really enjoyed a movie that isn’t necessarily a classic or a so-called piece of art that makes you contemplate and greatly enjoy the visuals. Honestly, I am a huge snob when it comes to new movies; I treat all of them equally, except the really cool ones, which I kind of separate either by their directors or trailers, or whatever. I realized, and still do, that sometimes, even without noticing it, I turn into a Mr Jones, not knowing what’s taking place around me, but, at the same time, being extremely boring and highly “intelligent”, clinging to that what is “right” and worthy of MY attention. Anyways, enough of the self-criticism, you don’t deserve being a part of it, and this article is in no way about it.

Now the film I am going to very briefly discuss, The Fate of the Furious (2017), has everything one would expect from a Fast and Furious film – dream cars, a great cast, really cool visuals, lots of adrenaline, globetrotting locations, and many more. There are so many things I liked about this film, especially considering the fact that I was forced to go to it. Well, I wasn’t really forced to do anything, and I really wanted to go out, but, to be honest, I was there more for the popcorn than the film.

The cast of the film was well-chosen, and considering that I understand nothing in how cast is chosen and which one is a well-chosen one, I think everything was just right. I was delighted to see two of the Game of Thrones’ actors: Nathalie Emmanuel and Kristofer Hivju, in the film, made me grow even more impatient with the upcoming season. I think there is no need to talk about Jason Stetham, because, well, it’s Statham…

The visuals of the film are just wonderful, and, although, it isn’t particularly a piece of art, it’s still very cool and atmospheric. The plot, too, isn’t very strong, but I guess that never stopped anyone from enjoying a F&F film. One thing I particularly appreciated was the film starting with Cuba. Oh, that I enjoyed the most. MV5BOGQ0YWU5OGEtYmM0YS00YWQ4LWIxZjItMjVmNGVkZjhiYmU4XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjQ1NjM4OTE@._V1_Also I loved Toretto’s (Vin Diesel) 1970 Dodge Charger.

Director F. Gary Gray, known for his Straight Outta Compton, made a lot of effort in fuelling the big car chases with new tricks and twists. And, honestly, he succeeded in doing so. Cars rained out of skyscrapers, and many were destroyed by a huge wrecking ball the size of two cows. At one moment Diesel even jumped out of a burning car with no surprise or horror on his face, but rather a slightly annoyed look that made one wonder if he usually practices those tricks at home between the breakfast and the dinner, or whatever comes after the first.

It’s funny how Diesel didn’t burn the moment his car was set on fire, because, you know, “diesel”, fire, puff, and fire. Anyways, I think whoever is looking for a film that is very fast, adrenaline boosting and really funny at times, should definitely go and watch Fast and Furious 8.

And here is the one scene that immediately killed my snobbism and made my smile touch the tips of my ears. This part, of course, is different when watched on a big screen, but still not a tiny bit less awesome even on a tiny little one.

Nina Baklachyan

Leave a Reply

