The question you should keep asking yourself this summer

28ae20af54b31fca2263bd67aeb31736.jpg

Summertime experiences are different for everybody so I can’t speak for everyone but I’ve developed a sort of ritual that I’ll be using for the eight summer in a row. The ritual is, before doing anything, just ask yourself, why not? This simple question comprised of two words has become responsible for some of the best experiences I have had in my life. During summer, many experiences may be offered to you which you may be inclined to turn down. You may  be too lazy to do them. Other times, you may be afraid to try certain things and think, “oh well I’ll try it next time.” This, my friend, is the worst thought you can have throughout a season as wonderful as summer. Why? Because many times, there is no next time so you’re left regretting your stupidness years later. You remember the times you took the plunge more often than the times you turned down something to stay at home and spend some alone time. The question of asking myself, “why not?” has become my summertime mantra. There are many things I have been afraid to try but asking myself this question pushes me to do it, and there hasn’t been a single time I’ve regretted it so far. This question has pushed me to do activities like tubing, mudding and parasailing, all of which I was hesitant to do at first. There’s something about the warm weather that makes you feel invincible. I’m the kind of person who likes to try new things but sometimes I need a little push to do it. The question of “why not?” is the exact push I need. Now, looking back these have accounted for some of the best experiences of my life. So, my advice to you, follow this mantra. I guarantee you’ll thank me in September.

Leave a Reply

